U15 Local Cup Watergrasshill United 1 – 0 Kinsale

Our U15 team welcomed Kinsale to Skehanagh park for the first round of the local cup. The game started off with both teams seeming to be evenly matched. While both teams used the opening minutes to find their feet, it was Watergrasshill who broke the deadlock in the 12th minute.  Nosa Daniel Jube’s pull back fell to Dean Russell just inside the area, who slotted home to give the Hill the lead.

Shortly afterwards, Watergrasshill’s Andrew Chandler played a through ball to Eoin Fitzgerald, whose scuffed shot trickled wide of the post. Kinsale used the restart to their advantage with a ball over the top that looked to have the Hill’s defence beaten but a great challenge from Gearóid White in the penalty area prevented a clear shot on goal with Dylan O Leary tidying up the resulting loose ball.

The game went tit for tat for the remainder of the half with Watergrasshill pushing on from a throw in which resulted in Andrew Chandler’s long-range effort being collected by the keeper. Watergrasshill had a great chance on the stroke of half time when a great corner was met by a powerful header from Ben Nodwell – the header beat the keeper but beat the post as well and went wide. Half time Watergrasshill 1 – 0 Kinsale.

The second half started in similar fashion to the first with both teams battling it out and creating a few chances but both keepers did well. Watergrasshill started to take control of the game and ten minutes into the second half, Ben Nodwell’s cross from a breakaway down the wing was met by Ryan whose effort rebounded off the post.

The Hill continued to push and were unlucky not to be rewarded with a second goal for their efforts. Another great through ball saw Eric Olusoji's shot well saved by the Kinsale keeper. Another wave of attacks saw Ben Nodwell’s chipped effort cleared off the line in some superb defending from Kinsale’s centre back. Watergrasshill had several more chances with Eric Olusoji drawing another fine save from the Kinsale keeper. With Watergrasshill in control for the second half, they managed to see the game out and progress to the next round of the cup with a 1-0 win.


Squad: Dylan Roche, Sean Murphy, Liam O’ Keeffe, Gearóid White, Dylan O’ Leary, Ian O’ Callaghan, Andrew Chandler, Dean Russell, Eoin Fitzgerald, Ben Nodwell, Nosa Daniel Jube, Sam Nodwell, Mark O’ Donaghue, Ryan O’ Mahony, Ryan Conroy, Eric Olusoji, Anthony Unurhoro, Callum Lynch.

Management Team: Paddy O’ Keeffe, Rob Knaap, Peter Chandler

Referee: Jason O’ Leary

Filed under: Club News, match, report, u15